Glenlivet Single Malt Scotch, 12 Year

The Glenlivet Single Malt Scotch, 12 Year

My last whisky tasting post was successful (no one wrote any angry comments which, I guess, is a pretty low barometer of success), so when I noticed that my only bottle of true Scotch was almost empty, I figured I should give it the same treatment that I gave my new Yamazaki before it disappeared.

Today I’m talking about Glenlivet 12 Year Single Malt Scotch. The Glenlivet distillery is located in the Speyside region of Scotland (northeast and part of the Highlands) and its single malts are the most popular in the United States. I bought my bottle quite awhile ago and I’ve been slowly nursing it. I picked The Glenlivet principally because it was the most affordable (read cheapest) bottle in stock when I decided I ought to give single malts a try. You can pick a bottle of the 12 year up for around $28 dollars, though the distillery also sports 15, 18, 21 and 25 year versions.

I tried the Scotch neat and under increasing dilution and here are my reactions (with the same categories and standards as last time).

Appearence: The color was light, darker than straw yellow or sunlight, but lighter than copper. The whisky was not that viscous, only coating the glass slightly.

Aroma: At full strength, the aroma was fruity, smelling particularly of fall fruits like pear and apple. I also picked up a hint of orange peel. With an open mouth, I breathed in spices like nutmeg and faintly cinnamon; I could almost taste the grittiness of the spice. After dilution, I sensed a bit more sweetness, maybe cream or butter. I also noticed a few peppery scents with hints of honey, tree-sap and toast.

Mouthfeel: At full strength, the whisky was sharp on the roof of the mouth and tongue. It left a drying sensation and when I spread my tongue around I felt an almost saltiness on the inside of my cheeks. Diluted, the whisky felt very smooth and clean and the sharper, lingering feelings were gone, though the dryness remained.

Taste: At full strength, the initial flavors were butter with a slight sweetness as well as pepper and a slight nuttiness. As it faded, the taste passed to a lightly solvent-type taste that was dry and a bit bitter, but still enjoyable. After diluting, the nuttiness was strengthened and I could sense a bit of toffee at the back of the mouth. It was very pleasing with no burn.

I really like the creamy, butteriness that comes with a little dilution and slow sipping; the sweet spot is maybe only a few big drops per part whisky. This is a nice Scotch (especially for the price) and I enjoyed it. Having finished this bottle to do this tasting, I’ll now have to run out and find something new to try!

1 Comment

Filed under Drinks, Spirits, Tasting Notes

One response to “Glenlivet Single Malt Scotch, 12 Year

  1. Richie Burrows

    Consumers of Glenlivet should be aware of the following:

    http://v3.espacenet.com/textdoc?DB=EPODOC&IDX=GB2140455&F=0

    For me, this process is certainly NOT traditional. When asked, Chivas Brothers Pernod Ricard (the distillers parent company) come back with “smoke and mirrors”. They decline any requests for further information and clearly do not want it to be a topic for discussion. For this reason, I would give Glenlivet a miss

Leave a Reply

